Previous Ambassadors

Diplomatic relations between the Philippines and New Zealand were established on 06 July 1966. The Philippine Embassy in Canberra, Australia exercised diplomatic and consular jurisdiction over New Zealand for a period of ten (10) years.

The resident Embassy was officially established on 09 October 1976.  On 17 November 1976, Ambassador Pacifico Evangelista presented his credentials to H.E. Sir Denis Blundell, then Governor-General of New Zealand, as the first resident Philippine Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary. From May 1981 until his retirement from the service on 31 March 1986, Ambassador Evangelista was the Dean of the Diplomatic Corps.

The following is the list of Philippine Ambassadors to New Zealand from the time of the establishment of RP-NZ Diplomatic Relations:

                       Name                                            Inclusive Dates
1.   H.E. Pacifico Evangelista             17 November 1976 - 31 March 1986
2.   H.E. Eduardo J. Montilla              14 August 1986 - July 1990
3.   H.E. Ernesto V. Llamas                 05 July 1990 - November 1990
4.   H.E. Vesta I. Cuyugan                  15 November 1993 - August 1996
5.   H.E. Alicia C. Ramos                    21 August 1996 - January 2002
6.   H.E. Francisco F. Santos              06 January 2002 - 10 October 2003
7.   H.E. Dr. Bienvenido V. Tejano      03 August 2005 - 30 September 2010
8.   H.E. Virginia H. Benavidez           02 September 2011 - 30 September 2015


Aside from New Zealand, the Embassy exercises diplomatic and consular jurisdiction over the Republic of the Fiji Islands, Samoa and the Kingdom of Tonga and an oversight jurisdiction over the Cook Islands.  

The Embassy supervises the Honorary Consulates General in Auckland, Christchurch, New Zealand and in Suva, Fiji. 

You are here: Home About The Embassy Previous Ambassadors